EU Non-Proliferation and Disarmament Consortium

Promoting the European network of independent non-proliferation and disarmament think tanks

EU NON-PROLIFERATION AND DISARMAMENT CONFERENCE

18-19 DECEMBER, 2018

PALAIS D'EGMONT, BRUXELLES PLACE DU PETIT SABLON 8

AGENDA

TUESDAY, 18 DECEMBER 2018

MORNING

INTRODUCTORY SESSION - Arenberg Room

- 8:30 Registration and Welcome Coffee
- 9:30 Welcome Remarks

Ettore Greco, Executive Vice President, Istituto Affari Internazionali (IAI), Rome

9:45 **Opening Speech**

Federica Mogherini, High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy / Vice-President of the Commission - TBC

FIRST PLENARY SESSION - Arenberg Room

10:00 Non-Proliferation and Disarmament: The Political Framework

Chair:

Jacek Bylica, Special Envoy for Disarmament and Non-Proliferation, European Union External Action Service (EEAS)

<u>Speakers:</u>

Vladimir Baranovskiy, Member of the Directorate, Institute of World Economy and International Relations (IMEMO), Moscow

Christopher Ford, Assistant Secretary of State, Bureau of International Security and Non-Proliferation, U.S. Department of State

Rose Gottemoeller, Deputy Secretary General, North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)

Anja Kaspersen, Director Geneva Branch, United Nations Office for Disarmament Affairs (UNODA)

11:45 Keynote Speech - The CWC after the Fourth Review Conference

Fernando Arias, Director-General, Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW)

12:15 - 13:30 - LUNCH - Mirror Gallery

AFTERNOON

PARALLEL BREAKOUT SESSIONS:

SESSION IA - Orange Room

13:30 Regulating the Arms Trade

Chair:

Sibylle Bauer, Director of Studies, Armament and Disarmament, Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI), Stockholm

Speakers:

Ashley Georgina Hamer, Field Analyst,
Conflict Armament Research, London
Manuel Martinez Miralles, Researcher, United
Nations Institute for Disarmament Research
(UNIDIR), Geneva
Sarah Parker, Policy Support Officer, Arms
Trade Treaty (ATT) Secretariat, Geneva
Anselme Nahmtante Yabouri, Director, United
Nations Regional Centre for Peace and
Disarmament in Africa (UNREC), Lomé

15:00 - 15:30 - COFFEE BREAK - Arenberg Fover

SESSION IB - Arenberg Room

13:30 The Challenges of Autonomous Weapons

<u>Chair:</u>

Niklas Schörnig, Senior Researcher, Peace Research Institute Frankfurt (PRIF), Frankfurt

Speakers:

Vincent Boulanin, Senior Researcher, SIPRI Ulrike Esther Franke, Policy Fellow, European Council on Foreign Relations (ECFR), London Kathleen Lawand, Head of Arms Unit, International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC), Geneva Gustav Lindstrom, Director, The EU Institute for Security Studies (EUISS), Paris

PARALLEL BREAKOUT SESSIONS II

SESSION IIA - Orange Room

15:30 Arms Control in Outer Space

Chair:

Xavier Pasco, Director, Fondation pour la recherche stratégique (FRS), Paris

<u>Speakers:</u>

Carine Claeys, Acting Special Envoy for Space, EEAS

Sergio Marchisio, Chairman, European Centre for Space Law (ECSL)

Tereza Kupkova, Project Coordinator, Space Security Program, The Prague Security Studies Institute, Prague

Guoyu Wang, Deputy Dean, Academy of Air, Space Policy and Law, Beijing Institute of Technology SESSION IIB - Arenberg Room

15:30 Cyber Security Challenges

Chair:

Antonio Missiroli, Assistant Secretary General for Emergency Security Challenges, NATO

Speakers:

Eléonore Pauwels, Research Fellow on AI and Emerging Cyber Technologies, United Nations University, New York Francesco M. Talò, Coordinator for Cyber Security Issues, Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation Tong Zhao, Fellow, Carnegie-Tsinghua Center for Global Policy, Beijing

17:00 - 17:30 - COFFEE BREAK - Arenberg Foyer

SECOND PLENARY SESSION - Arenberg Room

17:30 Nuclear Non-Proliferation and Disarmament

Chair:

Névine Schepers, Research Analyst, International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS), London

Speakers:

Irma Arguello, President, NPSGlobal Foundation, Buenos Aires

Cornel Feruță, Assistant Director General, Chief Coordinator, International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)

Patricia Lewis, Research Director, International Security, Chatham House, London

Adil Sultan Muhammad, Visiting Research Fellow, King's College London

Bruno Tertrais, Deputy Director, FRS, Paris

Xiaoning Wang, Director, External Relations and International Cooperation, Director, Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO)

19:00 - DINNER - Mirror Gallery

WEDNESDAY, 19 DECEMBER 2018

THIRD PLENARY SESSION - Arenberg Room

08:30 Registration and Welcome Coffee

09:00 Non-Proliferation and Disarmament in North-East Asia

Chair:

Benjamin Hautecouverture, Senior Research Fellow, FRS, Paris

Speakers:

Nobuyasu Abe, Senior Fellow, Harvard Kennedy School Belfer Center, Cambridge

Andrea Berger, Senior Research Associate, James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Studies, Monterey

Park Jiyoung, Senior Fellow, Asan Institute for Policy Studies, Seoul

Phillip Schell, Political Affairs Officer, United Nations Department of Political Affairs

10:30 - 11:00 - COFFEE BREAK - Arenberg Foyer

FOURTH PLENARY SESSION - Arenberg Room

11:00 The EU CBRN Centres of Excellence Initiative and its 2019-2020 Roadmap

Tristan Simonart, EU Coordinator, CBRN Risk Mitigation Centres of Excellence, Brussels

11:30 Implementing the EU's Non-Proliferation and Disarmament Agenda

Chair:

Laura Rockwood, Executive Director, Vienna Centre for Disarmament and Non-Proliferation

Speakers:

Rüdiger Bohn, Ambassador, Deputy Government Commissioner for Disarmament and Arms Control, Federal Foreign Office, Germany

Jacek Bylica, Special Envoy for Disarmament and Non-Proliferation, EEAS

Ann-Sofie Nilsson, Ambassador for Disarmament and Non-Proliferation, Swedish Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Manpreet Sethi, Senior Fellow, Centre for Air Power Studies, New Delhi

13:00 Closing Remarks

Sibylle Bauer, Chair, EU Non-proliferation and Disarmament Consortium /Director of Studies, Armament and Disarmament, SIPRI

13:30 – LUNCH - Mirror Gallery

